Chile Verde Stew

I don’t like pork.  Especially bacon. ((I know it’s so uncool to not like bacon, but alas, I was never cool.)) I’ll eat the occasional bratwurst with a beer, meat on a pizza, or add Italian sausage in my family recipe pasta sauce, but I don’t do pork loin, pork chops, breakfast sausage, etc.   So when I found a great Chile Verde recipe, I subbed the pork with beef stew meat, and this delicious meal was created.  It is one of my favorites to freeze and have as ‘frozen meal’ lunch with out all the preservatives and crap found in commercially made frozen meals.   I also don’t like cooked carrots is why I only chop them into thirds, so I can pull them out and throw away (in the compost bin) when stew is done.  Just use for the sweet flavor they add.

Chile Verde Stew
 
1.5-2 lbs stew meat
1 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, drain
2 7oz cans diced green chiles
6 red potatoes, quartered skin on
3 carrots peeled and cut into thirds
½ onion, chopped
5 cloves minced garlic
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1 tsp salt
½ tsp pepper
1 tbsp green hot sauce
1 cup frozen roasted corn
Place meat on bottom of slow cooker. Mix all other ingredients and pour over top. Cook on low 6-7 hours.
One thought on “Chile Verde Stew

  1. Pingback: 52+ New Recipes To Try | Eat, Drink, and Be Snarky

Leave a Reply

