The perfect pair

Cooking and saving money are two of my favorite things.

I enjoy cooking because it relaxes me.  I can listen to my iPod or Pandora and have a glass of wine while being creative in the kitchen after a frustrating day at work.

I have to save money because I have no choice.  If I don’t, I would have to pick up a second job (herk) or risk losing my house.  Neither are options, so I choose to pinch pennies and do everything I can to save money wherever I can, without skimping on taste, of course!

extra somethingThis is where Raley’s Something Extra Try-It program kicks in.  It is the best of both worlds.  I get to try new food products and I get them for free or at deep discounts (seriously, awesome!) And all they ask in return (because there is no such thing as a free lunch, right?!) is that I review the new products on their website, Twitter, Facebook, here, etc. And since I also love giving my opinions, I jumped at the opportunity! I have waited a few months to review the program because I wanted to see how it would all work out.  It’s been great!  I been able to try their new Top It! Pizza at 50% off as well as their Quick Grains, Infused Broths, and Salad blends, and Nob Hill All-Natural soup for free! In addition to food, I’ve also gotten some free swag too including a pizza cutter, pasta strainer, and cute soup tureen!

So far my most favorite program was the Nu-Val program where I got to try the Infused Broth (think boring old chicken broth, with a kick of chipotle) and Quick Grains together.  There was a recipe right on the box using both together, and it made an amazing Mexican stew (blog post with recipe to come of course).

If you are fortunate enough to live in Northern California with the awesome weather, culture and activities, you now have another reason to be thankful, join the Try-It program and try-it yourself!

Leave a Reply

