A for Effort!

I had two more casualties in the good-food-that-went-bad category.

toms

Much like the Botox believers will tell you, wrinkles aren’t sexy.  Especially in your tomatoes.  By the time I got to the bottom of the carton, they were more prune than tomato.  Boo. RIP to the dozen grape tomatoes that didn’t make it to the promise land… my belly.

salmon

Sadly, the second of my deaths wasn’t because I didn’t eat it before it went bad, but because I wasn’t paying attention.

I left the microwave going too long while reheating the last of my salmon to throw on top of my salad…

Hard, brown, dry.  Three characteristics you DON’T want in your baked salmon.  ::plays TAPS::

But I shall not weep!  I shall celebrate the fact that the original salmon was my new recipe of the week! And one that is quick and easy so I can actually post it now.

The one thing I have taken from this goal, even though I am not even a month in, is that I am making a very conscience effort when shopping and making meals to make sure that I don’t throw food out.

Honey Dijon Salmon

  • 4 pieces salmon
  • 3 tbsp honey
  • 3 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • fresh black pepper

Preheat oven to 350.  Place salmon in glass baking dish that has been sprayed with PAM.  Mix last four ingredients until well blended.  Pour over top of salmon.  Bake 20-25 minutes until salmon cooked thoroughly.

This recipe was too sweet for my taste, I prefer savory.  But it makes a GREAT dressing!  I used the remaining sauce as a dressing for my spinach salad that I had with the fish.  Quick and easy for a weeknight.  Enjoy!

2013-01-21_19-13-15_85

Yes, I realize I probably should have taken a picture before I started snarfing my spinach salad.  Alas, that wasn’t the case…

One thought on “A for Effort!

  1. Pingback: 52+ New Recipes To Try | Eat, Drink, and Be Snarky

Leave a Reply

