Thank you for being a friend!

We’ve all heard the theme song from Golden Girls a million times over.  Or is that just me because I’m destined to be a crazy cat lady and watch it every night before going to bed??  Ohhhhh but I digress….

Today I read two very poignant messages about friends.  One was a text message I received that said “As I get older, I appreciate my true friends more.  Thank you for just being you. I don’t know what I’d do without you in my life.”  The other was in a blog post I read from Eclectikramblings that said “And once again, especially now, there is nothing there to even go back to. I have one friend left there, the rest dropped me the second I left. None of them have checked in on me to see how I’m doing or anything, just one – and we’ve been friends since college. Life is funny that way.”

It seems so strange that while polar opposite, I can relate to both messages so clearly.

Why is it that some people you call friends would drop you in a heartbeat if they had something to gain from it?  Why is it that some friends never ever make the first move, be it a phone call, a text, a plan to meet up?  Why do others drop EVERYTHING for you no matter what, without hesitation?  Are these qualities in a person’s true character?  Or is it related to the friendship itself?

I feel like I have so many questions and no answers.

I feel heartbroken that I never got an explanation from a “friend” who RSVP’d to my birthday party, yet never responded to the texts I sent that day explaining details, and never bothered to showed up.  Not even sending a text with a lame excuse as to why they couldn’t make it last minute.  And never bothered with a call or text on my actual birthday.

But then I also feel overwhelmed with love and joy when I realize who my friends are and who would never leave my side. The ones we laugh til we cry with, drink til we cry with, or fight til we cry with.

I am going to do a social experiment starting in January.  I am going to stop making all of the effort, all of the plans, all of the phone calls.  And see who is really with me when push comes to shove.  Because those people are going to get the card that says, “Thank you for being a friend.”

Thank you for being a friend
Traveled down the road and back again
Your heart is true your a pal and a confidant. And if you through a party
Invited everyone you ever knew
You would see the biggest gift would be from me
And the card attached would say thank you for being a friend.
3 thoughts on “Thank you for being a friend!

  1. I’m thinking its qualities in an individual’s true character. At least I consistently see the people that do out the effort in also having characters and morals and values which I respect and is probably what draws me to them in the first place. Just my two cents 😉

  2. I liked this post a lot. We had a great group in high school. After high school we kept touch quite often, usually because of me. This last about five years until I realized that they always come if I invite them or if I call. And sometimes I just planned get together and someone didn’t come, ‘cos found something better to do (at least I felt so). So I did that what you planning to do on January. It worked. Two persons of that group isn’t my friend anymore. Now I really know who I can trust in life, ‘cos I have pretty rough year behind me. If you’re interesting check out my blog http://sonyablue.wordpress.com. althoughI just start to writing it.

  3. Pingback: You Spin Me ‘Round Round Baby, Right ‘Round « Eat, Drink, and Be Snarky

Leave a Reply

