Just Do It

November 6th is upon us.  In a few short days we will finally be rid of the obnoxious political ads.  But don’t just rejoice this fact, put a plan into action.  See this?

Image

This is my ballot that has been filled out for about a week now.  Even though it is in three, yes THREE languages, I muddled my way through and voted on everything but two propositions, and one school board of directors.

The right to vote is a big one.  An important one.  I believe that you should be able to vote for whomever or whatever you BELIEVE in.  Do not vote just to vote.  Do not vote if you don’t really know how you feel about a candidate or issue.  You CAN leave some blank.  This isn’t a Scantron flashback to your childhood.  A blank answer is not a wrong answer. In fact, a blank answer on something you don’t understand, or don’t believe in sends just as strong of a message.

I have voted in every single election since I was 18 years old.

I ran a polling place for over ten years.

I believe strongly in the voting process, and I am a firm believer in the thought that if you couldn’t bother to take the time to vote, you don’t get the right to bitch.

And I like to bitch.  And complain.  And if I want to, I can.  Because I VOTED.

I also believe that if you don’t like the “popular” choices.  Choose who you believe in.  I am in the strong, but sadly silent, majority who don’t like the two party system.  The only way to change it is to…

VOTE.

Image

Leave a Reply

